Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/lakshmi87/public_html/india/news-times/spl_ittcon.php on line 2
President Patil confers 56th National Film Awards - - India News Times - Search News President Patil confers 56th National Film Awards
Warning: include_once(analyticstracking.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/lakshmi87/public_html/india/news-times/special-news-detail.php on line 7

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening 'analyticstracking.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/share/pear:/opt/alt/php56/usr/share/php') in /home/lakshmi87/public_html/india/news-times/special-news-detail.php on line 7

President Patil confers 56th National Film Awards

     President Pratibha Patil on Friday gave away the 56th National Film Awards for 2008 in the national capital. The legendary Cinematographer V. K. Murthy received the Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2008 in the ceremony held at the Vigyan Bhawan. In the feature film section, the awards were given in 31 categories, which included Award for Best Feature Film, Indira Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a director, Award For Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment, Award For Best Direction, Actor, Actress, Editing, Lyrics and Choreography. In the non-feature film section, awards are given in 22 categories like Best Non-Feature Film, Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction/Compilation Film, Special Jury Award and Best Audiography. Priyanka Chopra bagged the best actress award for film ‘Fashion’, while Kangana Ranaut got the award for best supporting actress also for ‘Fashion’, and Arjun Rampal received the award for best supporting actor for his role in ‘Rock On’. Bala got the award for best direction for the Tamil film Naan Kadauul, and Hindi film Firaaq got the award for best editing and best art direction categories. Antaheen (Bengali) received the best feature film and best cinematography, best lyrics and best female playback singer category. The best actor award went to Upendra Limaye for his performance in Marathi feature film Jogva. Hariharan got the best male playback singer award and Shreya Ghoshal, the best female playback singer for Antaheen and Jogva. The Marathi film was awarded the best film on social issues category and the best music direction award. ‘Little Zizou’ (English, Gujarati) got the award for best film on family values, while Kannada film Gubbachigalu received the best children’s film award. Master Shams Patel bagged the best child artist for ‘Thanks Maa’. The Special Jury Award went to Malayalam film ‘Bioscope’ produced by National Film Development Corporation. Neeta Lulla was awarded for best costume designer for Jodha Akbar. The film Jodha Akbar also received the best choreography award. ‘AFSPA 1958' was awarded the best non-feature film for the courageous depiction of the non-violent resistance of the people of Manipur. Films Division produced ‘The Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi - A Reconstruction’ was awarded under the category ‘Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction/Compilation film’. The National Film Awards aim at encouraging the production of films of aesthetic and technical excellence and social relevance contributing to the understanding and appreciation of cultures of different regions of the country in cinematic form, thereby also promoting integration and unity of the nation.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©