Thai Govt wins against no-confidence vote

     Thailand Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva's government survived a no-confidence vote on Wednesday morning after a majority of MPs voted in support of him. The Bangkok Post quoted television reports as saying that the meeting of MPs voted 246 to 186 in support of Vejjajiva, with 11 MPs abstaining and 21 opting for "no vote". Deputy Prime Minister for security affairs Suthep Thaugsuban received support from 245 MPs while 187 MPs of the opposition camp voted against him. The meeting voted 244 to 187 in favour of Finance Minister Korn Chatikavanij, 239 to 190 in support of Foreign Minister Kasit Piromya, 236 to 194 to back Interior Minister Chavarat Charnveerakul and 234 to 196 in support of Transport Minister Sohpon Zarum. The House session was later closed by royal order of His Majesty the King.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©