New Zealand to play six Tests, eight ODIs in 2009-10 season

     New Zealand will play six Tests, eight one-day internationals and five Twenty-Twenty matches during a busy 2009/2010 domestic international season. The New Zealand international season will begin with a three-test series against Pakistan in November and December followed by one against Bangladesh on their brief tour in February. According to a New Zealand Press Association report, Australia arrive a week after Bangladesh leave to play two Twenty/20 matches, five one-day internationals for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy, and the two tests scheduled for March 19-23 at Wellington and March 27-31 at Hamilton. New Zealand Cricket chief executive Justin Vaughan said the decision to play two tests against Australia, instead of three, was due to the compressed nature of the tour. Pakistan arrives in New Zealand in mid-November to play the three tests as part of their "home" tour which was rescheduled and shifted from Pakistan for security reasons. Dunedin will host the first test from November 24-28 followed by Wellington from December 3-7 and Hamilton from December 11-15. The tour by Bangladesh includes one Twenty/20 international (February 3) three one-dayers (February 5 at Napier, Feb 8 at Dunedin and Feb 11 at Christchurch). Hamilton will host the sole test from Feb 15-19. "This is shaping up as a very exciting season for cricket fans and a really busy one for the Black Caps," Vaughan said. The busy summer is also expected to see high levels of demand for tickets.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©