37 per cent students turn out for DUSU polls

     In a controversy filled Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections this year, a total of 37 per cent students on Friday voted for the post of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Joint Secretary. "The polls were peaceful and recorded a turnout of 37 per cent. Everything worked well and no complaints of EVMs were received," said Chief Returning Officer J M Khurana. Twenty-nine candidates contested for the key posts, excluding the five candidates whom the Chief Election Officer had disqualified from contesting. The Chief Election Officer had disqualified five candidates, Deepak Negi for the post of President (NSUI) and Umesh Tomar for the post of Vice President (NSUI) and Rohit Chahal for President (ABVP), Lalit Kumar for Secretary (ABVP) and joint secretary Ashok Khare (ABVP), on the ground of violation of code of conduct following failure to comply with the Lyngdoh Committee recommendations. This year only one candidate each from NSUI and ABVP are contesting, Kirti Wadhera (ABVP) for the post of Vice-President and Arshdeep Kaur (NSUI) for the post of secretary. The Supreme Court had yesterday sealed the fate of all the five students, who had challenged disqualification of their nomination for the election. The apex court dismissed the special leave petition filed by NSUI candidate Deepak Negi and another student, and said: "We find no ground to interfere with the impugned order of the High Court. The petition is dismissed." Following disqualification of candidates from major parties, candidates from Students' Federation of India (SFI), Indian National Student Organisation (INSO) and AISA have emerged as frontrunners for the presidential post.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to indianewstimes@yahoo.com
All Rights Reserved © indiatraveltimes.com