Virat Kohli lone Indian in ICC World T20 team

      Flamboyant Indian batsman Virat Kohli is the lone Indian to be named in the ICC World Twenty20 Team of the year, that includes Pakistani spinner Saeed Ajmal filling in the slow bowler slot, and outgoing Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene taking over the captain's mantle. Kohli is the only Indian to be named in the team of the year, whereas three Sri Lankan players and two each from the new champions West Indies and Australia made it into the 11-man team by a five-member ICC panel, reports The Express Tribune.

Chris Gayle and all-rounder Shane Watson, the player of the tournament, were named openers, while Kohli, Jayawardene , England's Luke Wright and West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels occupied the middle-order slots. Australian seamer Mitchell Starc and limited-overs specialist Lasith Malinga were the two fast bowlers in the team, while Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka was named the other slow bowler along with Ajmal. Former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum was selected as the wicket-keeper, while South Africa were the only major cricketing nation without a representative in the team.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©