Ashes 2010-11 series schedule announced, to begin in Brisbane

      Cricket Australia and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced the schedule for the 2010-11 Ashes series to be held in Australia. England , who had won the Ashes this season in the five-match series held in England , will be looking forward to retaining their trophy, and will begin their campaign on November 25 next year in Brisbane . The second Test will be played in Adelaide from December 3 to December7, the third at Perth from December 16 to December 20, while Melbourne 's traditional Boxing Day fixture from December 26 to December 30 and Sydney 's New Year Test from January 3 to January 7 will complete the schedule. Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said that both the Boards were awaiting another thrilling series between two of cricket's biggest rivals. "Australian cricket fans always love an Ashes series and demand for tickets is going to be strong, so it is important to put the dates in diaries now," Fox Sports quoted Sutherland, as saying. "We also expect to have a lot of UK fans here again. I know we have only just finished an Ashes series in England , but I also know that the Aussie players - and Australian cricket in general - are already thinking about the Ashes series Down Under," he added. ECB Chief Executive David Collier said that following the Ashes series, England fans will be eager to support their team. "It promises to be a great contest and I am sure many thousands of England cricket fans will be eager to purchase tickets when they go on sale and get behind the team in Australia ," Collier said. The schedule for the one-day series will be released at a later date.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©