Over 4000 Karnataka doctors resign over salary hike tiff

      The stalemate between the Karnataka Government and doctors over salary hike shows no sign of ending, as over 4000 doctors submitted their resignation letters en-masse in Bangalore on Tuesday. Apart from hike in their pay, the doctors have sought regularisation of contractual doctors and time-bound promotion in their demands, which the Government refused to accept. After rejecting the appeal of the state's Chief Secretary Sudhakar Rao to wait till October 4, the doctors submitted their resignation letters to Usha Vasunkar, Director of Health and Family Welfare Department. "They are giving their resignations to me. I have received and I will forward this to the Secretary," Usha Vasankar said. However, the doctors said that they would work till October 14, the deadline set by them for the government to meet their demands. "They (Government of Karnataka) have not taken any issue seriously because two years back we had submitted this memorandum to the government. Government has not initiated any action regarding this. So, the government has to address the problem of the people," said Dr. Shail Kumar, Vice President of Karnataka Government Medical Officers Association (KGMOA). "We told the Chief Secretary about our resignation process today. So, on October 4, the Chief Minister will address our grievances, but we are not able to do so because all our friends have assembled here. So, we are continuing with our duties. Till October 14, we are in the hospital. We will conduct all our duties," Kumar added. Government doctors at the beginners level get a monthly pay of Rs. 18,500, which the Association has demanded to be raised to at least Rs. 35,000, in negotiations the Government has offered a pay hike ranging between Rs. 3,000 and Rs. 8,000. The Association is still adamant with their demands and has set October 14 as the deadline for the Government to accept its demand.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to indianewstimes@yahoo.com
All Rights Reserved © indiatraveltimes.com