Protesting LJP lawmakers resign from Bihar Assembly

     Twelve lawmakers of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) resigned from the Bihar Assembly on Thursday in protest against their suspension by Speaker Udai Narain Choudhry. "All the 12 MLAs of the party have submitted their resignation letters to National President Ram Vilas Paswan and state chief Pashupati Kumar Paras in protest against their suspension from the State Assembly yesterday," said LJP spokesperson Keshav Singh. "The MLAs had submitted their letters at the state legislature party meeting held in Patna on Wednesday evening and requested the party leadership to take a decision," he added. Keshav Singh further said the MLAs felt that their continuance as members of the State Assembly was meaningless, and asserted that it has denigrated the position of the members of the House. Choudhry had on Wednesday suspended 67 Opposition MLAs on Wednesday for the rest of the session for their unruly behaviour in the House, which included 11 MLAs from the LJP. The MLAs were marshalled out of the house by the watch and ward staff after a slipper was thrown at the podium of the Speaker. The proposal to seek the suspension of the MLAs was brought in the House by state parliamentary affairs in-charge Brijendra Prasad Yadav, which was passed by voice vote amid protests by opposition members.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©