President's rule imposed in Jharkhand

     The Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs on Tuesday approved the imposition of President's rule in Jharkhand. The move came after Jharkhand Governor MOH Farooq's report to the Centre on the fluid political situation in the state. The governor met reprsentatives of all poltiical parties before submitting his report. On Sunday, Chief Minister Sibu Soren resigned after his party failed to garner enough support to form the government. On April 28, the BJP parliamentary board decided to withdraw support to the JMM-led coalition government after Soren voted in-favour of the UPA Government during a cut motion in the Lok Sabha. However, the decision was put on hold when JMM legislature Party leader and Soren''s son Hemant wrote a letter to BJP President Nitin Gadkari pledging support to a BJP-led government in the state. The JMM, however, backtracked and demanded rotational power sharing, with each party leading the government for a period of 28 months. This was agreed by the BJP on the understanding that Soren will quit as Chief Minister by May 25 after which Arjun Munda would head the new coalition government. The JMM and the BJP have 18 MLAs each and the Soren Government has the support of two Janata Dal (United) legislators and five from the All Jharkhand Student''s Union (AJSU), besides two others in the 82-member Assembly. The Congress has 14 MLAs, Jharkhand Vikas Manch (JVM) has 11 MLAs and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has five MLAs.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©