Andhra Pradesh interim cabinet formed

     All 34 ministers of the erstwhile Y.S Rajasekhara Reddy government in Andhra Pradesh took oath again here on Sunday to join in the interim government led by K.Rosaiah. State Governor N.D. Tiwari administered oath of office and secrecy to the council of ministers at simple function held in the Raj Bhavan ending three days of legal and political confusion. Earlier, it was reported that some staunch followers of YSR were not ready to take oath and openly said they work only under YSR's son Jaganmohan. Senior Congress leader K. Rosaiah was earlier sworn into office as caretaker Chief Minister. Governor Tiwari consulted legal experts and decided that the ministers will need to take oath afresh to fulfill a constitutional requirement. The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has maintained that the leadership issue in the state will be decided after the seven-day mourning period for the late chief minister is over. It has said that it will depute central observers to meet MLAs and MPS in Hyderabad next week to decide on who will succeed YSR. It has warned the MLAs and MPs not to take any step that goes against the party''s constitution. The Governor had also asked state Chief Secretary P Ramakanth Reddy to explain the legal and constitutional position after meetings with state Advocate General Seetarama Murthy.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©