Steve Davies to replace Matt Prior in ICC Champions Trophy 2009

      The ICC has confirmed that the event technical committee of the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 has approved a change in the England squad for the tournament, which runs until October 5. Steve Davies may now replace Matt Prior, who missed the matches against South Africa and New Zealand due to illness. The confirmation of Prior's replacement was conveyed to England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on behalf of the committee on Thursday. Davies, the 23-year-old former Under-19 captain, has represented England in only one Twenty20 International against the West Indies at Port of Spain earlier this year. The event technical committee of the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 consists of David Richardson (ICC General Manager - Cricket and event technical committee chairman), Don McIntosh (tournament director), Campbell Jamieson (representative of IDI, the ICC's commercial arm which runs major ICC events), Mike Gajjar (CSA representative), Sanjay Manjrekar (independent nomination) and Nick Knight (independent nomination). England takes on Australia in the first semi-final at Centurion today.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©