TRS wins six out of 12 seats in Telangana by-polls

     The Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has won six out of the seven seats announced for the ongoing Telangana by-elections, while its new political ally Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won one seat. It has been reported that the TRS is also leading the five other seats, where ballot boxes were used because there were more candidates than the electronic voting machine (EVM) could list. The TRS won Vemuluwada by a margin of 50,361 votes and Siddipet by a record 95,000 votes. Tight security arrangements have been made at seven counting stations spread over five districts where polling was held on Tuesday. The entire counting process is being videographed and a media and data centre have been set up at every counting center for quick information. State Congress president D Srinivas and TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao's son K T Rama Rao are among the prominent candidates in the fray. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) I V Subba Rao had earlier today said several restrictions are in place at counting centres. "Mobile phones would not be allowed inside the counting halls. Only authorised persons would be allowed inside," he added.

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to
All Rights Reserved ©